CHILDREN'S SERVICES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

MINUTES of the meeting held on Tuesday, 15 May 2012 commencing at 11:42 am and finishing at 11.44 am

Present:

Voting Members:

Councillor Janet Godden Councillor Neil Owen Councillor M. Altaf-Khan Councillor Marilyn Badcock Councillor Mrs Anda Fitzgerald-O'Connor Councillor Pete Handley Councillor Pete Handley Councillor Caroline Newton Councillor Dave Sexon Councillor Val Smith Councillor Michael Waine

Officers: Peter Clark, County Solicitor & Monitoring Officer; Sue Whitehead (Chief Executive's Office)

The Scrutiny Committee considered the matters referred to in the agenda for the meeting and agreed as set out below.

194/12 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2012/13 COUNCIL YEAR

(Agenda No. 1)

Councillor Marilyn Badcock moved and Councillor Owen seconded that Councillor Waine be elected Chairman of the Committee for the 2012/13 Council Year.

Councillor Val Smith moved and Councillor Altaf-Khan seconded that Councillor Godden be elected Chairman of the Committee for the 2012/13 Council Year.

Following a vote by a show of hands it was:

RESOLVED: that Councillor Waine be elected Chairman of the Committee for the 2012/13 Council Year.

195/12 ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2012/13 COUNCIL YEAR

(Agenda No. 2)

Councillor Waine moved and it was seconded that Councillor Marilyn Badcock be elected Deputy Chairman of the Committee for the 2012/13 Council Year.

Councillor Godden moved and Councillor Altaf-Khan seconded that Councillor Val Smith be elected Deputy Chairman of the Committee for the 2012/13 Council Year.

Following a vote by a show of hands it was:

RESOLVED: that Councillor Marilyn Badcock be elected Deputy Chairman of the Committee for the 2012/13 Council Year.

196/12 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE AND TEMPORARY APPOINTMENTS (Agenda No. 3)

An apology was received from Councillor Ann Bonner.

in the Chair

Date of signing